Prospect Park
No events
February 2018
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

About Prospect Park

About Prospect Park

Prospect Park is a borough in Passaic County, New Jersey, United States. As of the 2010 United States Census, the borough population was 5,865.


Prospect Park solid hereditary traits are Dutch descent or birth, this town was incorporated as a Borough by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on March 13, 1901.

According to the United States Census Bureau, the borough has a total area of 0.478 sq mi (1.238 km2); the land being 0.475 sq mi (1.230 km2) and surrounded by 0.003 sq mi (0.008 km2) 0.61% water.


Local government

Prospect Park is governed under the Borough form of New Jersey municipal government. The government consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council comprising six council members, with all positions elected at large. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office. The Borough Council consists of six members elected to serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year. Prospect Park's elections are partisan, which under New Jersey law (which has since been amended) requires them to be held in November.

As of 2012, the Mayor of Prospect Park is Mohamed T. Khairullah, whose term of office ends on December 31, 2018. Members of the Borough Council are; Council President Felicia Ortiz, Councilman Samir Hayek, Councilwoman Cristina Peralta, Councilwoman Ester Perez and Councilman Robert Artis.

Federal, state and county representation

Prospect Park is in the eighth Congressional district and is part of New Jersey's 35th state legislative district. Based on the results of the 2010 Census, the New Jersey Redistricting Commission has shifted Prospect Park into the ninth Congressional District, a change that took effect in January 2013, based on the results of the November 2012 general elections.

Bill Pascrell (D, Paterson) represents New Jersey’s Eight Congressional District.  Frank Lautenberg (D.Cliffside Park) and Bob Menendez (D, Hoboken) represent New Jersey in the United State Senate

Shavoda E. Sumter (D, Paterson) and Benjie E. Wimberly (D, Paterson) represent the 35th District of the New Jersey Legislature in the State Senate by Nellie Pou (D, North Haledon) and in the General Assembly. The Governor of New Jersey is Chris Christie (R, Mendham Township). The Lieutenant of Governor of New Jersey is Kim Guadagno (R, Monmouth Beach.

Passaic County is governed by a seven-member Board of Chosen Freeholders, who are elected to staggered three-year terms office on an at-large basis, with two or three seats coming up for election each year. As of 2016, Passaic County's Freeholders are Freeholder Director Theodore "TJ" Best (D, term ends December 31, 2017), Freeholder Deputy Director John Bartlett (D, term ends December 31, 2018), Hector C. Lora (D, term ends December 31, 2018), Bruce James (D, term ends December 31, 2017), Cassandra "Sandi" Lazzara (D, term ends December 31, 2018), Terry Duffya (D, term ends December 31, 2016) and Pat Lepore (D, term ends December 31, 2016).


<div id="<%= overlayId %>" class="_mp3rocket_overlay_style" style="left: <%= overlayLeft %>; top: <%= overlayTop %>; width: <%= overlayWidth %>; height: <%= overlayHeight %>"></div>"</p>"